New Headshot for Mom

(Erika/Mom) I’ve been using the same photo for almost all of my online activity (except this blog): Twitter, Facebook, bios, etc. The photo was taken in the summer of 2005, in a little grove of lemon trees and I just love it:

But…2005? That was five years ago! I’m starting to feel dishonest. While I look pretty much the same, there’s just no way that this can be considered a recent photo. It’s like using a resume that you haven’t updated in awhile. I don’t like the fact that I look older, or somewhat heavier, but it’s the truth. This was driven home to me a few months ago at a meeting I attended where we could post stuff live on Twitter. The guy who was speaking looked around the room (and it was not a huge room) and said he was looking for the resident Twitterer (me) but couldn’t seem to find her. Hmmm; maybe because my hair was about six inches longer, my face wasn’t professionally made up, and, well, time has passed.

So this week I decided to ask my friend and wonderful photographer Simon Alexander to get me an updated face. Of course before heading into NYC to do the shoot I had to figure out what to wear. And as usual, I had to do it fast. While trying to return a few things in Princeton I rushed into Ann Taylor with about four minutes left on my parking meter. They had lots of pretty things meant for layering. I loved all of the ruffles and prints, but didn’t indulge this time. Instead, my eye was caught by a steel-gray cardigan with tiny silk rosebuds framing the front. I paired it with a champagne camisole I already have, and some dark gray pants. Then for a splash of color I borrowed Lizzi’s orange LV scarf. Here is the final presentation:

So where’s the professional NYC headshot, you ask? I’m still deliberating. You’re going to have to check back in, or Google me in a few weeks. But thanks to a good haircut, some serious highlights, and great makeup (all thanks to the Village Salon in Pennington), I think that five years have been good to me.

Tags: ,

One Response to “New Headshot for Mom”

  1. Karen A. Says:

    Wow Erika, I think you look even better in the recent photo! Can’t wait to see how your headshot turns out!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

