Last Day of School!

Monday, June 22nd is the end of 6th grade for me. I can’t believe how fast the school year has gone! I’m going to miss everyone and I’m actually sort of disappointed that today is the very last day I will see my friends before the summer.

Anyway, I have absolutely no idea what to wear. I’m out of new clothes, and to make it worse, it’s been the worst weather the past month. Rain. Thunder. Humidity. But, it’s hot.

I have no fresh ideas.

At all.

One bit.

I am uninspired and totally clueless.

I was talking to some of my friends yesterday asking what the heck they were wearing. None of them know, neither do they care. I’m just guessing that they will be wearing their typical preppy Abercrombie & Fitch uniform.

But, ahhh, finally, I have found a classy, in style store to buy clothes that will actually fit my tiny little body. And it’s on the way to the shore… where we might be going tomorrow (if the weather doesn’t turn out bad).

I’ve liked J. Crew for a long time, but was never able to fit into their items. I knew they had a children’s line, but little did I know they had my size. Crewcuts! Cute name for a much-needed, small-sized line of kids that will actually fit me.

Therefore, besides my other needs, I will buy something small that will complete an outfit that I already have. A graphic t-shirt:

shoe t-shirtWith a pair of denim shorts, some cute flats, and my teal cardigan, I can stay cool, dry, and fashionable.

(Erika/Mom) School’s out for summer……School’s out for ever……

WB8188~Alice-Cooper-Schools-Out-PostersI don’t remember what I wore on last days of school. I just remember some particularly peculiar first day of school oufits–but I’ll save them for another post. I do remember when Candies were all the rage. My best friend Carla wore a pair on the last day of 11th grade, and used them to fend off some hostile girls who were out to get her for some forgotten reason. They were pretty lethal, too, with those long, wooden heels. Debbie Harry from Blondie made them super famous:

2762104257_8afdf7b25c

Wow, couldn’t find any. Amazing. Here’s a nice updated version, though. If I were still in school, I’d definitely wear these:

twentytwoshoes-1Summertime, and the livin’ is easy. Kick up your heels, and watch the fireflies dance across the twilight sky.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment