No Rips and Fewer Uggs for the New Year

happy new years!
(Erika/Mom) Last week, my daughter Lizzi and I came up with 10 terrific fashion trends we would like to see continue in 2010. We thought it only appropriate to follow up with New Year’s wishes of what we DON’T want to see anymore. Let’s start with a clean slate, people. January 1 is the day to wake up in those cute new PJs you got, eat a healthy breakfast, play Monopoly with your kids…and throw out your Uggs!!!
brown uggs
Before you start chucking your old worn-out boots at me, you should know that I have my own version of Uggs. They are Lands End clogs, red with sheepskin lining. They are supremely comfortable, easy to throw on, and I wear them far too much between November and April. Lizzi averts her eyes when she sees my red feet coming. But I’m not talking about banning Uggs for shoveling snow off the driveway or thick clogs for walking the dog. They are wonderful cold-weather boots. Here’s what I hate:

It's alright to wear them inside but not out!

It's alright to wear them inside but not out!


Uggs aren’t much of a fashion statement. I don’t think we should default to Uggs just because they’re easy. Don’t even get me started on wearing Ugg SLIPPERS as real shoes. Geez. It’s totally fine if you’re inside and lounging around the house. There are a lot of shoes and boots on the market that are warm, convenient, and don’t make you look like you stepped in some kind of suede cement. If you must wear Uggs, consider the styles that aren’t “classic Ugg”–like this one, for example:
cute grey slouchy uggs

Don’t hate me. I’m just tired of Uggs worn in all the wrong places. Now Lizzi will tell you her wish.

(Lizzi/Daughter) One trend I would not like to see in 2010 would be the whole destroyed/ripped trend. I don’t know the exact name for it, but I think it looks totally trashy and weird. I’m constantly seeing ripped leggings and shirts and dresses being sold everywhere from Forever21 to even Neiman Marcus! I don’t mind destroyed jeans to an extent. But if they’re destroyed to a point where your whole leg shows then it makes me want to gag.

ripped everything

Instead of wearing rips and detroyed jeans, try cut-outs. They are a lot cleaner and more sophisticated than tons of rips and holes.

cutouts

Have a Happy New Year, everyone!

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “No Rips and Fewer Uggs for the New Year”

  1. Francesca Says:

    I agree with you on the rips, yuck! (:

  2. Cathy Says:

    i verrrrry much agree. but if i ever get ripped jeans (which probably wont happen) im definitely going to buy neon leggings and put them underneath.

Leave a Reply

